将Fraunhofer技术引入印度——Fraunhofer IIS举办数字电视广播音频编码研讨会 – Fraunhofer Audio Blog

将Fraunhofer技术引入印度——Fraunhofer IIS举办数字电视广播音频编码研讨会

印度已经宣布引进地面电视系统DVB-T2的计划,目前正在制定必要的接收器规范。二月份,印度电视广播行业的顶尖人员聚集在一起,共赴Fraunhofer IIS举办的专题研讨会,以了解更多可能的数字电视音频编码技术,包括广受好评的高效AAC( HE-AAC )。

凭借其为全球70亿以上的设备提供出色音质的条件, HE-AAC 已然成为最先进多媒体系统使用的最重要的使能技术之一,同时还是流媒体和广播固有的编解码器。Fraunhofer IIS举办“印度数字电视广播音频编解码器技术”研讨会的目的在于促进人们对一般音频编码技术的了解,尤其是HE-AAC。此次活动得到了印度广播工程顾问有限公司(BECIL)和印度电子电信工程协会(IETE)的大力支持,吸引了75位来自印度广播行业不同领域的高级工程管理人员。与会者包括公共电台和电视广播公司人员、标准协会会员、DTH广播公司人员、影视制作商、有线电视运营商、项目工程师和系统集成商。

HE-AAC——广播与流媒体首选的音频编解码器

在对音频编码和各种相关选项进行总体介绍后,研讨会又将焦点集中在了 HE-AAC 上面,即,全世界大多数最先进广播和流媒体系统使用的主要音频编解码器。这种编解码器对于印度广播服务机构而言并不陌生,因为该国早已在数字无线广播中运用了这一技术,但实际上,它仅仅是全球众多应用中的其中一项应用。大部分数字无线电标准机构,包括DAB+和DRM(数字无线电调幅联盟)都采用了HE-AAC,且全球各地的数字电视服务均信赖编解码器的效率。它是DVB工具箱的一部分,同时也是南美ISDB-T标准的组成部分,目前在一些欧洲、南美、非洲和亚洲国家使用。如今,所出售的大多数具有高清功能的电视接收器均支持HE-AAC。此外,所有主要广播编解码器制造商很早以前就将HE-AAC集成到其设备中。由于 HE-AAC 的广泛运用,因此很容易将其整合至当前的生产和传输链中,而无需投入过多精力。

现场演示说明 HE-AAC 特点

研讨会上,Fraunhofer IIS主持人解释了在达到数字电视音频服务要求上所需面对的挑战,以及使用 HE-AAC 的各种优势。其中包括有多种可能的声道配置可供选择(从单声道到48声道不等)、通过元数据支持实现响度控制、以及音频描述服务。

随后,一系列的现场演示更进一步地说明了Fraunhofer最新音频技术的各种特点,同时还对利用 HE-AAC 节省比特率进行了介绍。另外,还重点强调了用于提高观众体验的新服务项,如对白增强。对白增强能使电视观众根据个人偏好随意调整电视节目的混音,并提高对白和解说的语音清晰度。通过在不同比特率下重放多个 HE-AAC 音轨这一实例,说明了编解码器如何在不同的比特率条件下提供卓越的音质,而在比特率转换要求干扰少的情况下,也使它成为自适应流媒体标准(如DASH)的首选编解码器。

另外,还展示了最新开发的软件Fraunhofer Cingo。谷歌已经将基于软件的移动环绕声音效技术运用于Nexus系列设备。Cingo能在移动设备的立体声扬声器或普通耳机上重放环绕声音效内容。谷歌在其Google Play Movies应用中选择使用 HE-AAC multichannel(多声道)音频编解码器,旨在为用户提供必需的环绕声音效内容。

Fraunhofer IIS非常感谢印度广播行业对这些技术表现出的极大热情,同时也对BECIL和IETE提供的支持表示由衷谢意。

Header image © Fraunhofer IIS

This post is also available in: Deutsch English

关注我们

Bringing Fraunhofer technology to India – Fraunhofer IIS conducts workshop on audio coding for digital TV broadcasting – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
Bringing Fraunhofer technology to India – Fraunhofer IIS conducts workshop on audio coding for digital TV broadcasting | ©Fraunhofer IIS

Bringing Fraunhofer technology to India – Fraunhofer IIS conducts workshop on audio coding for digital TV broadcasting

India has announced plans to introduce the terrestrial TV system DVB-T2 and is currently developing the necessary receiver specifications. In February, the A-list of India’s TV broadcasting industry came together for a special workshop conducted by Fraunhofer IIS to learn more about possible audio coding technologies for digital TV, including the acclaimed audio codec High Efficiency AAC (HE-AAC).

Providing more than 7 billion devices worldwide with excellent audio quality, HE-AAC has become one of the most important enabling technologies for state-of-the-art multimedia systems and is also the established codec for streaming and broadcasting. Fraunhofer IIS conducted the workshop “Audio Codec Technology for Digital TV Broadcasting in India” in order to encourage a deeper understanding of audio coding in general and, in particular, of HE-AAC. The event, supported by Broadcast Engineering Consultants India Limited (BECIL) and the Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE), attracted 75 senior engineering executives drawn from different sectors across the Indian broadcasting industry. Attendees included personnel from public radio and TV broadcasters, standards institutions, DTH broadcasters, product manufacturers, cable operators, project engineers and systems integrators.

HE-AAC – audio codec of choice for broadcast and streaming

Following a general introduction into audio coding and the various related options, the workshop focused on HE-AAC, the predominant audio codec in most state-of-the-art broadcast and streaming systems worldwide. The codec is not unknown to Indian broadcast services as the country is already using this technology for digital radio broadcasting, but in fact this is just one of its many applications worldwide. Most digital radio standards, including DAB+ and DRM (Digital Radio Mondiale), have adopted HE-AAC and digital TV services across the globe trust the codec’s efficiency. It is part of the DVB toolbox, as well as the ISDB-T standard for South America, and is in use in several European, South American, African and Asian countries. As a result, the majority of HD-capable TV receivers being sold today support HE-AAC. In addition, all major broadcast encoder manufacturers incorporated HE-AAC into their devices long ago. Thanks to this widespread adoption HE-AAC can easily be integrated into existing production and distribution chains without much effort.

Hands-on demonstrations illustrate HE-AAC’s features

During the workshop, Fraunhofer IIS presenters explained the challenges of meeting the requirements for audio services in digital TV and the advantages of using HE-AAC for this purpose. Among these are the numerous possible channel configurations, from mono to 48 channels, loudness control enabled by metadata support, and an audio description service.

Subsequently, a series of hands-on demonstrations further explored the feature-sets of Fraunhofer’s latest audio technologies and included a presentation on achieving bit rate savings with HE-AAC. New types of services for enhancing the audience experience such as Dialogue Enhancement were also highlighted. Dialogue Enhancement enables TV audience members to adjust the program’s audio mix to match their personal preferences and enables increased speech intelligibility of dialogue and commentary. Several HE-AAC audio tracks were played back at various bit rates to provide examples of how the codec delivers superior audio quality at different bit rates, making it the codec of choice for adaptive streaming standards such as DASH where glitch-less bit rate switching is essential.

The latest software development, Fraunhofer Cingo, was also showcased. The software-based mobile surround sound technology has already been adopted by Google for its Nexus family of devices. Cingo enables the playback of surround content over the stereo speakers of the mobile device or regular headphones. To provide its customers with the necessary surround content, Google selected HE-AAC multichannel for its Google Play Movies.

Fraunhofer IIS very much appreciates the enthusiasm expressed by the Indian broadcasting industry in its technologies, as well as the support it received from BECIL and IETE.

 

This post is also available in: Deutsch 汉语