2014“空间音频国际会议”( ICSA ):令人惊叹的高品质环绕声 – Fraunhofer Audio Blog

2014“空间音频国际会议”( ICSA ):令人惊叹的高品质环绕声

近年来,3D音频已经成为国际音频界最重要的话题之一。3D音频的目标是要让人们体验到来自各个方向的令人赞叹且有一种如同身临其境般的声音。

为了将理论和实践结合起来,并为充分自由地交流观点创建一个平台,2014年2月21日至23日在德国费劳恩霍夫集成电路研究所(Fraunhofer IIS)举行了第二届“空间音频国际会议”( ICSA )。为了此次会议,该研究所与德国录音师协会“Verband Deutscher Tonmeister”(VDT)以及德国音响师协会“Deutsche Gesellschaft für Akustik e. V.”(DEGA)进行了密切合作。

录音师、音响工程师和研究人员们齐聚德国埃朗根市(Erlangen),就各自的经验和问题进行了富有成效的交流和讨论,并仔细研究了有关空间音频的录音、制作、复制以及质量评估等方面的最新发展动态。Andreas Silzle博士是德国费劳恩霍夫集成电路研究所(Fraunhofer IIS)的资深科学家,也是在埃朗根(Erlangen)举行的此次会议的发起人,我们与他进行了交谈:

为什么选择Fraunhofer IIS作为此次会议的举办地点

我和我的同事们正在研究一种新的电视音频系统,该系统正被考虑作为即将发布的电视标准,比如ATSC 3.0的一部分。该系统是以公开的ISO标准MPEG-H音频为基础的,并且有望通过附加的前后高置音箱声道传输具有身临其境效果的声音,从而给人们提供一种的确非常逼真的音频体验。因此,该研究所是音频界就这一话题进行交流的一个极好的地点。此外,2011年期间在音乐学院(HfM),也即德国的一所从事音乐教育的大学举行的第一届会议上,科学、艺术和实践的结合给了我们一个鼓舞人心的体验。因此,我寻求延续此项活动。

您能否为我们简单总结一下这三天的会议活动情况?

这次会议举行了包括各种3D音频演示在内的18场参与者众多的研讨会,28场演讲,还张贴了10幅宣传海报,我们对此次会议感到非常满意。今年的 ICSA 再一次将具有丰富的理论知识和实践经验专家们聚集在一起,并且给予了他们一次难得的机会,使他们能够与其他国际专业人士谈论技术问题、相互学习,并获得有关各自工作的新的灵感。因此,从各种不同的角度来突出这个话题是一件非常重要的事情。此次会议的参与者中有研究人员、录音师、程序员、工程师和音效设计师。这就使人们能够从基础研究到录音和制作,再到创造具有身临其境效果的声音,全面地考察空间音频这个话题。

ICSA 2014的亮点都有哪些呢?

今年的ICSA的亮点之一是从事3D音频领域工作的技术领导者举行的圆桌讨论会议。Francis Rumsey(Logophon有限公司)以其题为《空间音频-重塑现实,亦或创造梦幻?》的主题演讲发言为整个活动拉开了序幕,同时也引发了对“3D音频系统”这一话题的讨论。他与Jan Plogsties(Fraunhofer IIS)、Bert Van Daele(Auro Technologies公司)、Frank Melchior(BBC研发部门)、Ton Kalker(DTS公司)以及Nicolas Tsingos(杜比实验室)等人一起,探讨了新的音频格式的范围、具有身临其境感声音的优势,以及用于吸引听众或供广播装置使用的新兴配送声道。

这些演讲、研讨会和讨论使人们更加深入、全面地了解了这个复杂的话题。此次会议着重探讨了波场合成、高阶高保真度立体声响复制(HOA)、高质量多声道制作和复制、录音、音频信号的传输和处理以及3D音频的感知及质量评估等话题。不同3D音频的预演也成为此次活动的一个主要内容。两个听觉优化处理室分别配备了一套5+5扬声器设置系统,可同时满足总人数达82名听众的使用需求。一个特别的亮点是使用一套借助耳机的22.2系统复制3D音频。

可从以下网站获取与今年 ICSA上的演讲的有关科学论文和圆桌讨论会视频 www.tonmeister.de

下一届  ICSA 将于20159月在奥地利的格拉茨市举行。维也纳音乐和表演艺术大学(MDW)以及电子音乐和音响设计研究所(IEM)将担任该届会议的领头人。

This post is also available in: Deutsch English

关注我们

ICSA 2014: Impressive and enveloping sound – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
ICSA 2014: Impressive and enveloping sound | ©Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

ICSA 2014: Impressive and enveloping sound

In recent years 3D audio has become one of the most important topics for the international audio community. The goal is to experience enveloping and impressive sound from all directions.

To combine theory and practice, and to create a platform for the full and free exchange of ideas, Fraunhofer IIS served as a venue for the 2nd “International Conference on Spatial Audio” (ICSA), which took place from 21st to 23rd February, 2014. For this event the institute cooperated closely with the German tonmeister association “Verband Deutscher Tonmeister” (VDT) and the German Acoustical Society “Deutsche Gesellschaft für Akustik e. V.” (DEGA). Tonmeisters, sound engineers and researchers met in Erlangen for a fruitful exchange of experiences, discussions and questions, and to examine the latest developments regarding the recording, production, reproduction and quality evaluation of spatial sound. We spoke with Dr. Andreas Silzle, senior scientist at Fraunhofer IIS and initiator of the event in Erlangen:

Why was Fraunhofer IIS chosen to host the event?

My colleagues and I are working on a new TV audio system being considered for forthcoming television standards such as ATSC 3.0. The system is based on the open ISO standard MPEG-H audio and promises to transmit immersive sound with additional front and rear height speaker channels to provide a truly realistic audio experience. For this reason, the Institute was an excellent location to communicate with the audio community on this topic. Moreover, the combination of science, art and practice during the first conference at the Hochschule für Musik (HfM), a university for music education located in Germany, during 2011 was an inspiring experience. For this reason I searched for a continuation of this event.

Could you please give us a short summary of the three days?

With 18 well-attended workshops including 3D audio demos, 28 talks and 10 posters we were very satisfied with the conference. This year’s ICSA brought together experts with practical and theoretical knowledge for the second time and gave them the unique possibility to get in contact with other international specialists to talk about technical issues, to learn from each other, and to obtain new impulses for their own work. Therefore it was important to highlight the topic from various perspectives. Among the participants of the event were researchers, tonmeisters, programmers, engineers and sound artists. This enabled a comprehensive view of the topic of spatial audio: from basic research, to recording and production, to the creation of immersive sound.

What were the highlights of ICSA 2014?

One of the highlights of this year’s ICSA was the round table talk with technology leaders working in the field of 3D audio. Francis Rumsey (Logophon Ltd.), who opened the entire event with his keynote speech “Spatial audio – reconstructing reality or creating illusion?”, led the discussion on the topic “3D audio systems”. Together with Jan Plogsties (Fraunhofer IIS), Bert Van Daele (Auro Technologies), Frank Melchior (BBC Research & Development), Ton Kalker (DTS, Inc.) and Nicolas Tsingos (Dolby Laboratories, Inc.) he discussed the scope of new audio formats, the benefits of immersive sound, and emerging distribution channels to reach the audience or for the use for broadcasters.

The talks, workshops and discussions provided a highly revealing insight into and overview of this complex topic. The event focused on wave field synthesis and higher order ambisonics (HOA), high-quality multichannel production and reproduction, recording, transmission and processing of audio signals, or perception and quality evaluation of 3D audio. Different 3D audio previews were also a main part of the event. Two acoustically optimal treated rooms were each equipped with a 5+5 loudspeaker setup for a total of 82 listeners. One specific highlight was the reproduction of 3D audio with a 22.2 system via headphones.

The scientific articles relating to the lectures of this year’s ICSA and a video of the round table talk are available on the website (www.tonmeister.de).

The next ICSA will take place in September 2015 in Graz. The University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna (MDW) and the Institute of Electronic Music and Acoustics (IEM) will take the lead of the event.

This post is also available in: Deutsch 汉语