展会季到来:中国国际广播电视信息网络展览会( CCBN )在京召开 – Fraunhofer Audio Blog

展会季到来:中国国际广播电视信息网络展览会( CCBN )在京召开

第22届中国国际广播电视信息网络展览会( CCBN )即将于2014年3月20日至22日在北京中国国际展览中心举行。 CCBN 为亚太地区最大的广播技术与设备展览会,预计将有超过1,000家参展商和100,000名专业观众参与此次展会。这是弗劳恩霍夫集成电路研究所(Fraunhofer IIS)第二次亮相 CCBN ,Fraunhofer IIS希望借此次展会向观众展示其最新的音频技术。

东亚地区网络社区的持续增长是促使Fraunhofer IIS参与此次CCBN的原因之一。2013年12月底,中国互联网络信息中心(CNNIC)发布了《第33次中国互联网络发展状况统计报告》,报告反映了中国互联网用户的快速增长。截至2013年,中国互联网用户总计达6.18亿,普及率达45.8%。报告指出,5亿、即81%的中国互联网用户通过移动设备上网,肯定了智能手机在中国日益增长的重要性。其中,2.47亿移动用户通过移动设备观看电影、视频或欣赏音乐。

由Fraunhofer IIS联合开发的音频编解码器HE-AAC即可支持上述所有服务。在过去的几年里,HE-AAC已经成为最先进的广播和流媒体多媒体系统最重要的基础技术之一。由于可以在高比特率和极低比特率条件下保持卓越音质,HE-AAC成为MPEG-DASH等新自适应流媒体标准的完美音频解决方案。在此次展会中,中国观众可以体验HE-AAC结合新一代视频编解码器HEVC和MPEG-DASH所带来的出色音效。HE-AAC编解码器品质出众,可在拥堵网络和不稳定比特率条件下,实现绝佳的音效体验。HE-AAC编解码技术作为安卓系统(世界使用最广泛的手机操作系统)唯一强制性的音频编解码器,不仅可以使观众体验到立体声音效,而且可以体验5.1多声道环绕声音效。我们将通过HDMI将安卓设备连接到家庭影院系统上来进行上述演示。

使小型设备亦可展现出众音效的Fraunhofer-Cingo技术与HE-AAC多声道技术完美搭配。借助Cingo,用户通过耳机或内置立体声扬声器即可在智能手机或平板电脑上领略到绝佳的环绕声音效。由于其独特的音效功能,谷歌Nexus系列设备即采用了Cingo。

此外,我们还将展示HE-AAC最新版本之一的扩展型HE-AAC技术(xHE-AAC),也是MPEG音频编解码器的第五代产品。扩展型HE-AAC是广播服务的理想产品,并且是第一种可以在极低比特率(8 kbit/s)条件下同时处理语音和音乐的音频技术。在CCBN展会上,观众可以通过一段谈话广播节目或音乐广播节目,直接感受其他音频编解码器与扩展型HE-AAC的差别,体会xHE-AAC编解码器的优势。即使在极低的比特率条件下,xHE-AAC也能为用户提供绝佳的音效体验。

我们的编解码器不仅可以用于电台广播,也可用于数字电视广播。例如,HE-AAC作为DVB工具箱的一部分,已被多个欧洲和南美国家所采用。为了使电视的未来更具吸引力,我们将在 CCBN 上展出我们的对白增强技术。该技术使听众可自行调节节目的音频平衡。例如,用户可以根据自身喜好改变语音或环境背景声。借助对白增强技术的高效编解码能力,就能实现音频数据流中所需附加信息的传输。

Fraunhofer IIS热切期待着 CCBN 的到来,并希望在此次展会上与观众开展有趣的会谈以及业务发展交流。


[1] 中国互联网络信息中心(CNNIC):2013年《第33次中国互联网络发展状况统计报告》,www1.cnnic.cn/AU/MediaC/rdxw/hotnews/201401/t20140117_43849.htm [20.03.2014].

This post is also available in: Deutsch English

关注我们

Next tradeshow coming up: CCBN in Beijing – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
Next tradeshow coming up: CCBN in Beijing | ©Fraunhofer IIS/Matthias Rose

Next tradeshow coming up: CCBN in Beijing

The 22th China Content Broadcasting Network Exhibition (CCBN) will take place from March 20 to 22, 2014 in the CIEC Exhibition Center in Beijing. The CCBN calls itself the largest broadcasting technology and equipment expo in the Asia-Pacific region. More than 1,000 exhibitors and 100,000 professional visitors are expected. It’s our second time exhibiting at CCBN and we are looking forward to showing our latest audio technologies to the visitors.

One of the reasons why we exhibit in China is the continuous growth of the internet community in East Asia. The 33rd Statistical Report on Internet Development in China of the Internet Network Information Center (CNNIC) from the end of December 2013 confirmed a rapid increase of internet users in China. In 2013, the number of internet users reached 618 million and a 45.8 % penetration rate. 500 million Chinese internet users and thus 81% surf the internet via mobile devices, which confirms the growing importance of smartphones in China. 247 million of those mobile users use their mobile devices to stream movies, videos, and music.

One technology, which supports all these services, is the audio codec HE-AAC, which was co-developed by Fraunhofer IIS. Over the last couple of years, HE-AAC has become one of the most important enabling technologies for state-of-the-art multimedia systems for broadcasting and streaming. Thanks to its ability to provide excellent audio quality at high and very low bit rates, HE-AAC is the perfect audio solution for new adaptive streaming standards such as MPEG-DASH. In China, our visitors experience the high quality performance of HE-AAC in combination with the new video codec HEVC and MPEG-DASH. The HE-AAC codec performs well and delivers an excellent audio quality on congested networks and with unstable bit rates. As the only mandatory codec for Android, the world’s most popular mobile operating system, our visitors can expect not only stereo sound, but also immersive 5.1 surround sound. Therefore, we will connect an android device via HDMI to a home theater system.

The ideal complement of HE-AAC multichannel is our Fraunhofer-Cingo technology, which brings impressive sound to small devices. Cingo offers excellent surround sound on smartphones or tablets by using headphones or the built-in stereo loudspeakers. Due to the unique sound, Google has chosen Cingo for their Google Nexus family devices.

Furthermore, we will show extended HE-AAC (xHE-AAC), one of the successors of HE-AAC, and therefore, the fifth generation MPEG audio codec. It´s the ideal candidate for radio services, and for the first time, one technology is able to handle both speech and music at very low bit rates (up to 8 kbit/s). At our CCBN booth, visitors can experience the direct comparison with other audio codecs and see how well our codec xHE-AAC performs while listening to a talk radio program or a music radio program. Users will see how xHE-AAC delivers high audio quality at very low bit rates.

Our codecs are used not only for radio broadcasting, but also for digital TV broadcasting. For example, HE-AAC is part of the DVB toolbox and is being used in several European and South American countries. To make the future of television more attractive, we will show at CCBN our Dialogue Enhancement technology. This technology gives TV and radio audiences the unique chance to influence their program’s audio balance. For example, users can change speech or ambient background sounds according to their preferences. With its coding efficiency, it is possible to transport the required additional information for Dialogue Enhancement within the audio data stream.

We’re looking forward to the CCBN tradeshow, and the many interesting conversations and excellent business contacts that await us there!

This post is also available in: Deutsch 汉语