用于2019年欧歌赛现场制作的MPEG-H音频系统亮相IBC – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© Adrian Murtaza - Fraunhofer IIS

用于2019年欧歌赛现场制作的MPEG-H音频系统亮相IBC

2019年9月13日至17日,Fraunhofer IIS将在荷兰阿姆斯特丹RAI会展中心举办的IBC展会上(8号馆B.80)携手欧洲广播联盟(EBU)及其技术合作伙伴: SSL、ATEME、Jünger Audio(现由Telos Alliance独家代理)、Telos Alliance和Sennheiser展示用于2019欧歌赛测试播出的下一代广播电视音频系统MPEG-H端到端传输链路,与会观众可在现场体验到沉浸及互动式音频的制作、传输、接收和播出全流程。

2019特拉维夫欧歌赛有两个制作版本,除了被全球百万观众所收看的立体声和5.1版之外,欧洲广播联盟(EBU)及其技术合作伙伴还通过下一代音频系统MPEG-H Audio制作了三维声版。基于对象的音频技术能够带来定制化和沉浸式的音频效果,从而赋予家庭电视观众身临其境的视听体验。比赛现场的记者和EBU成员能够体验由MPEG-H技术带来的DASH互联网直播和兼容DVB直播,后者还通过欧洲电视网(Eurovision FINE network)向海外广播电视公司进行了现场直播。“制作一次,适应所有”是MPEG-H音频系统的巨大优势。

Fraunhofer IIS及其合作伙伴将在IBC上重现欧歌赛的现场制作流程:SSL的System T S500m调音台用于5.1+4H沉浸声混音,其中包含五种语言的评论声音频对象。制作好的混音内容被发送到MPEG-H实时监听系统Telos Alliance AMS或Jünger Audio MMA上,用于实时生成MPEG-H元数据和仿真监听。ATEME的TITAN 超高清编码器用来创建符合DVB的广播传输流和互联网传输的DASH及HLS流。而在传输链路的末端使用支持MPEG-H的森海塞尔Ambeo条形音箱来还放沉浸式的欧歌赛现场盛况。此外,与会观众还能在平板电脑上观看HLS传输的节目内容,通过耳机获得沉浸式音频效果。

基于对象的MPEG-H音频系统能带来沉浸式音效,并赋予观众个性化的混音效果,例如切换语言、调整评论声音量、对白增强以及选择不同的音频描述。个性化功能帮助广播电视商和视频流媒体服务商为其客户带来更为先进的音频辅助服务。在内容传输和还放方面,MPEG-H Audio的自适应功能可确保用户在任何接收设备或收听环境中均能获得最佳音效。MPEG-H Audio已纳入ATSC 3.0、DVB和3GPP标准,并已正式应用于韩国基于ATSC 3.0的全新地面超高清电视系统中,也使其成为了全球首个商用的下一代广播电视音频系统。

参观Fraunhofer IIS及其技术合作伙伴展位:Fraunhofer IIS:8号馆B.80展位;EBU: 10号馆 F.20展位;Solid State Logic (SSL):8号馆D.83展位;安特姆(ATEME):1号馆D.71展位;Jünger Audio:8号馆D.47展位;Telos Alliance:8号馆D.47展位;森海塞尔:8号馆D.50展位。

欲了解更多有关欧歌赛测试的相关信息,敬请访问:

https://tech.ebu.ch/news/2019/05/immersive-and-personalized-audio-at-the-eurovision-song-contest

https://www.avinteractive.com/features/case-studies/eurovision-making-masterpiece-23-06-2019/

欲了解有关MPEG-H音频的更多信息,敬请访问:

www.mpeg-h.com.cn

www.iis.fraunhofer.de/mpeg-h

Header image © Adrian Murtaza – Fraunhofer IIS

This post is also available in: Deutsch English 한국어

关注我们

Live MPEG-H Audio System production chain for the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest showcased at IBC show – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© Adrian Murtaza - Fraunhofer IIS

Live MPEG-H Audio System production chain for the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest showcased at IBC show

Fraunhofer IIS and its technology partners, who conducted the MPEG-H Next-Generation Audio (NGA) trial at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest with the European Broadcast Union (EBU), are teaming up again for a demonstration at the IBC show. Together with Solid State Logic (SSL), ATEME, Jünger Audio (now distributed worldwide exclusively by the Telos Alliance), Telos Alliance and Sennheiser, Fraunhofer IIS will showcase an end-to-end transmission chain for MPEG-H Audio content at Europe’s major broadcast industry event. From September 13 to 17, 2019, the Fraunhofer booth B.80 in hall 8 will be one place where IBC visitors can experience production, transmission, reception and playback of immersive and interactive sound at the RAI Congress Center in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

The 2019 Eurovision Song Contest (ESC) in Tel Aviv was produced twice: while millions of viewers all over the world were watching the popular music show in stereo or 5.1 sound, the EBU and its technology partners did another live production of the contest, which was mixed and transmitted using the MPEG-H Audio next-generation audio system. Able to deliver customizable and enveloping sound, this object-based audio technology aims to make the audience at home feel as though they were in the arena themselves. As part of the trial, journalists and EBU members on site in Tel Aviv were able to experience the MPEG-H Audio‑enhanced show as a DASH internet livestream and as a DVB-compliant live broadcast stream. The latter was also delivered live to broadcasters abroad via the Eurovision FINE network. The “produce once, deliver anywhere” feature is one of the great advantages of the MPEG-H Audio system.

At IBC, Fraunhofer IIS and its partners will recreate the live production process from the ESC: Fraunhofer’s sound engineers will use the System T S500m broadcast console provided by Solid State Logic to produce a 5.1+4H immersive mix of the show, including commentaries in five different languages as audio objects. The mix – audio alongside video – will then be sent to a Telos Alliance Linear Acoustic AMS or a Jünger Audio MMA MPEG-H real-time authoring and monitoring system for live authoring of the MPEG-H metadata and monitoring of various configurations. ATEME’s TITAN UHD broadcast encoder will be used to create a DVB‑compliant broadcast transport stream and, at the same time, DASH and HLS streams for delivery over the internet. At the end of the broadcast chain, the audio streams will be played back on the natively MPEG-H-enabled Sennheiser Ambeo soundbar, which is able to reproduce the immersive experience captured at the ESC. In addition, there will be a tablet at the Fraunhofer booth that receives the same program via HLS and plays back the immersive content binaurally rendered to headphones.

Thanks to its object-based nature, the MPEG-H Audio System provides immersive sound and enables the viewer to personalize a program’s audio mix, for instance by switching between different languages, adjusting the volume of a commentator, enhancing the dialogue, or choosing from various audio description options. Personalization features like the latter enable broadcasters or providers of video streaming services to offer more advanced accessibility services. In terms of content delivery and playback, MPEG-H Audio’s universal delivery concept ensures the best sound regardless of the receiving consumer device or listening environment. MPEG-H Audio is standardized in ATSC 3.0, DVB and SBTVD/ISDB-Tb, as well as 3GPP. In South Korea, terrestrial ATSC 3.0 broadcasting with MPEG-H Audio is already on air, making MPEG-H the world’s first commercialized next-generation TV-audio technology.

Visit Fraunhofer IIS and its technology partners at IBC: hall 8, B.80; EBU: hall 10, F.20; Solid State Logic (SSL): hall 8, D.83; ATEME: hall 1, D.71; Jünger Audio: hall 8, D.47; Telos Alliance: hall 8, D.47; Sennheiser: hall 8, D.50.

Read more about the ESC trial:

https://tech.ebu.ch/news/2019/05/immersive-and-personalized-audio-at-the-eurovision-song-contest

https://www.avinteractive.com/features/case-studies/eurovision-making-masterpiece-23-06-2019/

More about MPEG-H Audio:

www.mpeg-h.com

www.iis.fraunhofer.de/mpeg-h

Header image © Adrian Murtaza – Fraunhofer IIS

This post is also available in: Deutsch 汉语 한국어