苹果建议所有音频流采用xHE-AAC编码 – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© VAKSMANV - stock.adobe.com

苹果建议所有音频流采用xHE-AAC编码

苹果在今年全球开者大会的三个研会中介绍了如何通苹果设备进xHE-AACHLS传输。

受全球疫情影响,2020年苹果全球开发者大会(WWDC)改为线上对公众免费开放,并在会后提供全程录像。xHE‑AAC作为最新苹果操作系统中支持的技术,在有关HLS流的三个会议中得到了突出展示。

苹果流媒体团队的Simon Goldrei在题为“提供更好的HLS音频体验”的会议上介绍了AAC编解码器家族的最新成员,它对于HLS来说也是全新的技术存在。Goldrei向开发者提供了苹果对采用xHE-AAC流媒体服务的码率建议,范围从24kbps至AAC的最大推荐码率即立体声160kbps。此外,Goldrei还介绍了xHE-AAC技术为服务提供商带来的益处,比如在低带宽网络条件和数据速率受限的设备上为用户提供服务。

Goldrei阐述了响度和动态范围控制(DRC)元数据的重要性。MPEG-D DRC标准为xHE-AAC提供了响度控制功能,使还放音量始终保持一致。此外,它还提供了动态范围控制处理,以确保用户在任何平台、环境下都能拥有最佳的收听体验。Goldrei强调了苹果对公开标准做出的贡献, 苹果公司的建议符合ANSI/CTA 2075 (用于OTT、移动和固定设备的在线视频分发响度标准)和旨在统一MPEG-DASH和HLS的媒体编码CMAF标准(通用媒体应用格式)。Goldrei总结道:“ DRC在整个行业中将变得越来越重要,而这些元数据的引入是行业前进的正确方向。”

视频链接:https://developer.apple.com/videos/play/wwdc2020/10158/

由苹果流媒体团队的Suresh Koppisetty主讲的题为“Apple Watch流媒体音频的新功能”的会议中介绍了watchOS7的AVPlayer中将支持xHE-AAC解码。原因是xHE-AAC能够以更低的码率提供同等质量的音频,亦可选择与AAC家族的其他编解码器相同的比特率来提供更高的音频质量。“智能手表必须适应不同速度的网络带宽,我们应尽可能用低码率来提供高质量的音频内容。因此,我们建议您采用xHE-AAC做为所有音频的编码器。” Koppisetty表示。

视频链接:https://developer.apple.com/videos/play/wwdc2020/10636

在“用HLS工具改善流媒体配置”会议中,苹果HLS流媒体团队的Eryk Vershen与开发人员和服务提供商探讨了xHE-AAC和多声道音频编解码器。他讲解了如何在HLS播放列表中为音频内容配置不同语言和通道信息。会议还为开发人员介绍了如何利用新引入的SCORE属性对xHE-AAC编码的音频内容进行优先级排序。Vershen在案例分享环节强调:“由于USAC [xHE-AAC]的音质最好,所以我们只会在设备无法播放USAC时选择HE-AAC。利用SCORE属性,我们可以将USAC的优先级提高来作为首选编码,从而有效地解决了兼容性问题。”

视频链接:https://developer.apple.com/videos/play/wwdc2020/10225

关于xHE-AAC

xHE-AAC是MPEG AAC音频编解码系列的最新成员。Fraunhofer是xHE-AAC和MPEG-D DRC标准的主要贡献者。专业的xHE-AAC编码器软件能够从Fraunhofer IIS或其流媒体设备合作伙伴处获取。xHE-AAC和MPEG-D DRC专利包含在由VIA Licensing管理的AAC专利许可计划中,无需增加用户的额外成本。

请注意:受外部法律限制,本文提供URL链接无法被直接打开。请将该网址复制并粘贴至浏览器地址栏访问引用网址。

Header image © VAKSMANV – stock.adobe.com

This post is also available in: Deutsch English 한국어

关注我们

Apple recommends xHE-AAC for streaming of all audio assets – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© VAKSMANV - stock.adobe.com

Apple recommends xHE-AAC for streaming of all audio assets

During this year’s Worldwide Developer Conference, xHE-AAC was featured in three separate sessions on HLS streaming to Apple devices.

Due to the global pandemic, Apple’s 2020 Worldwide Developer Conference (WWDC) was held online with free access for everyone. The sessions were recorded and made available to the public. xHE‑AAC, which is natively supported by the latest Apple operating systems, was prominently featured in three sessions about HLS streaming.

During the session entitled “Deliver a better HLS audio experience,” Simon Goldrei from Apple’s Streaming Media team introduced the latest member of the AAC codec family, which is new to HLS. He also provided developers with Apple’s recommendations on audio bit rates for xHE-AAC-based streaming services. These range from “data rates as low as 24 kilobits per second all the way up to the maximum that we have recommended [for] AAC, at 160 kilobits per second for stereo,” Goldrei stated. He went on to outline the various motivations for service providers to use xHE-AAC, such as reaching users on low-bandwidth networks and on devices with restricted data rates.

Goldrei also highlighted the importance of the loudness and dynamic range control (DRC) metadata. The MPEG-D DRC standard provides loudness control for xHE-AAC to play back content at a consistent volume. In addition, it offers dynamic range control processing to provide the best possible user experience for listening on any platform, in any environment. Underscoring Apple’s commitment to open standards, Goldrei explained that Apple’s recommendations are consistent with the new ANSI/CTA 2075 standard (“Loudness Standard for Over the Top Television and Online Video Distribution for Mobile and Fixed Devices”), as well as CMAF (Common Media Application Format), which aims at unifying media encodings between MPEG-DASH and HLS. “The takeaway is that DRC is becoming more relevant throughout our industry, and your inclusion of this metadata is the way forward,” Goldrei concluded.

Watch the session: https://developer.apple.com/videos/play/wwdc2020/10158/

A session entitled “What’s new in streaming audio for Apple Watch,” led by Suresh Koppisetty from Apple’s Streaming Media team, disclosed that xHE-AAC decoding will be added to the AVPlayer for watchOS7. The reason for this is its ability to “deliver equivalent quality at lower bit rates – or you can choose to deliver higher quality at equivalent bit rates to other codecs in the AAC family.” Koppisetty also mentioned that when streaming to a smart watch, which has to function under highly variable network conditions, “we should aim to deliver high-quality audio content with as low a bit rate as possible.” He concluded by stating: “Hence, we recommend using xHE-AAC for encoding all your audio assets.”

Watch the session: https://developer.apple.com/videos/play/wwdc2020/10636

In the “Improve stream authoring with HLS Tools” session, Eryk Vershen from Apple’s HLS Streaming team talked to developers and service providers about xHE-AAC and multi-channel audio codecs. He explained how they should be used in HLS playlists consisting of video and audio content where the latter can come in various language versions and channel configurations. The session also gave specific hands-on advice regarding how developers can prioritize xHE-AAC-encoded versions of the audio content over legacy codecs, using the newly introduced SCORE attribute. In the example given during the session, Vershen emphasized that “USAC [xHE-AAC] is going to sound better. We really want to choose HE-AAC only if we’re on some device that can’t play USAC. We fix this with the SCORE attribute. We give the USAC variants higher scores so they are preferred. This allows the USAC to function like a mutually exclusive codec.”

Watch the session: https://developer.apple.com/videos/play/wwdc2020/10225

About xHE-AAC

xHE-AAC is the latest member of the MPEG AAC audio codec family. Fraunhofer played a substantial role in the development of xHE-AAC and the MPEG-D DRC standard. Professional xHE-AAC encoder software is available directly from Fraunhofer IIS or its streaming equipment partners. xHE-AAC and MPEG-D DRC patents are included in the AAC patent licensing program administered by VIA Licensing at no additional cost.

Please note: Due to external legal constraints, some URLs provided in this blog post are non-functional. Please copy and paste the URL into the address bar of your browser in order to visit the referenced URLs.

Header image © VAKSMANV – stock.adobe.com

This post is also available in: Deutsch 汉语 한국어