全新Tensilica HiFi 1 DSP支持LC3/LC3plus

支持LC3/LC3plus的全新Cadence DSP助力新一代耳戴式设备、可穿戴设备和始终在线设备,延长电池寿命并改善用户体验

Cadence Tensilica HiFi 1 DSP为小型电池供电设备提供突破性的音频/语音创新(如 TWS 耳塞、助听器、蓝牙耳机、智能手表和其它可穿戴设备),大幅改善用户体验。一些融合趋势正在推动市场对于小尺寸、低能耗音频/语音功能的需求。越来越多的耳戴式设备和可穿戴设备正在采用蓝牙技术联盟(SIG)在 2020 年标准化的低复杂性通信编解码器(Low Complexity Communication Codec,简称 LC3)。此外,消费者对免提和免触摸控制的偏好需求,正在推动对于始终在线(Always-on)或始终监听(Always-listening)设备的需求,这些设备可以响应语音唤醒命令,一些家用电器甚至也正在采用这些功能。归根结底,为了支持这些设备和应用,小尺寸和更长的电池寿命是其中的关键。“

“Fraunhofer 与其他企业联合开发的低复杂性通信编解码器(LC3 和 LC3plus)有助于将受电池限制的蓝牙设备的能耗降到最低。Fraunhofer 和 Cadence 在包括 LC3/LC3plus 在内的各种编解码器方面有着悠久的合作历史,Cadence 已经在其 Tensilica HiFi DSP 上进行了优化,” Fraunhofer IIS 通信音频部主管 Manfred Lutzky 表示,“我们很高兴看到 Cadence 在过去成功的经验基础上推出了全新 HiFi 1 DSP,该产品针对 LC3 和 LC3plus 进行了运算性能和功耗效率的优化。HiFi 1 DSP 让编解码器达到了前所未有的超低能耗水平,这对小尺寸、电池供电的耳戴式设备和可穿戴设备来说是个好消息,同时有助于加速 LC3 和 LC3plus 的广泛采用。”

HiFi 1 DSP 为 LC3 和其他蓝牙编解码器提供超低能耗编码和播放,以及用于语音唤醒的超低能耗关键词侦听,所有这些功能都集成在尺寸超小的 HiFi DSP 中。与 HiFi 3 DSP(业界最受欢迎的目标应用音频 DSP)相比,HiFi 1 DSP 的优势包括:

  • 尺寸减少 11% 至 16%
  • 在基于机器学习的“OK Google”关键词侦听和人员探测应用中,运算性能和功耗效率提高 60% – 73%
  • 对 LC3 解码来说,运算性能提高 18% 以上,功耗效率提高 14% 以上

“HiFi DSP 在当前一代 TWS 耳塞和蓝牙耳机中得到广泛采用,”Cadence 公司 Tensilica IP 研发副总裁 David Glasco 表示,“LC3 的问世和更广泛的市场趋势为新一代耳戴式设备创造了条件,有机会实现卓越的用户体验和更长的电池寿命。随着许多语音算法纷纷采用 AI,我们也看到 TWS 耳机中分析和增强音质的用例在大幅扩展。紧凑的 HiFi 1 DSP 以超低的能耗支持这些新的使用案例,为大众市场带来了始终在线和始终监听的功能,而这些功能在以前只有高阶产品才能提供。”

 

关于Cadence

Cadence 在计算软件领域拥有超过 30 年的专业经验,是电子设计产业的关键领导者。基于公司的智能系统设计战略,Cadence 致力于提供软件、硬件和 IP 产品,助力电子设计概念成为现实。Cadence 的客户遍布全球,皆为最具创新能力的企业,他们向消费电子、超大规模计算、5G 通讯、汽车、移动、航空、工业和医疗等最具活力的应用市场交付从芯片、电路板到系统的卓越电子产品。Cadence 已连续七年名列美国财富杂志评选的 100 家最适合工作的公司。如需了解更多信息,请访问公司网站 cadence.com。

本文节选自Cadence新闻稿:

https://www.cadence.com/en_US/home/company/newsroom/press-releases/pr/2021/cadence-extends-battery-life-and-improves-user-experience-for-ne.html

This post is also available in: English

关注我们

New Tensilica HiFi 1 DSP Features LC3/LC3plus

New Cadence DSP features the LC3/LC3plus codec wich enables extended battery life and improved UX for next-generation hearables, wearables and always-on devices

Cadence Tensilica HiFi 1 DSP improves the user experience by delivering breakthrough audio/voice innovation for small battery devices such as TWS earbuds, hearing aids, Bluetooth headsets, smart watches and other wearables. A number of converging trends are driving the need for low-energy audio/voice capabilities in a small form factor. Increasingly, hearables and wearables are adopting the Low Complexity Communications Codec (LC3) standardized by the Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG) in 2020. In addition, consumer preference for hands-free and touch-free control is driving demand for always-on, or always-listening, devices that respond to voice wake-up commands, and appliances are even adopting these capabilities. Finally, to enable these devices and applications, a small form factor and longer battery life are crucial.

“The Low Complexity Communication Codecs (LC3 and LC3plus) co-invented by Fraunhofer help minimize energy consumption for battery-constrained Bluetooth devices. Fraunhofer and Cadence have a long history partnering on various codecs including LC3/LC3plus, which Cadence has optimized on its Tensilica HiFi DSPs,” said Manfred Lutzky, Head of Audio for Communications department at Fraunhofer IIS. “We’re pleased to see them building upon that experience with the new HiFi 1 DSP that is energy- and cycle-optimized for LC3 and LC3plus. The HiFi 1 DSP embodies the codec’s unprecedented ultra-low energy levels, which should bring relief to small battery hearable and wearable devices with added features and help accelerate the widespread adoption of LC3 and LC3plus.”

The HiFi 1 DSP delivers ultra-low energy encoding and playback of LC3 and other Bluetooth codecs and ultra-low energy keyword spotting for voice wake-up, all in the smallest footprint HiFi DSP. Compared to the HiFi 3 DSP, the most popular audio DSP in the industry for the target applications, the HiFi 1 DSP offers:

  • 11 to 16% lower area
  • 60 to 73% greater cycle and energy efficiency for ML-based “OK Google” keyword spotting and person detect applications
  • Greater than 18% cycle efficiency and 14% energy efficiency for LC3 decoding

“HiFi DSPs enjoy wide adoption in current-generation TWS earbuds and Bluetooth headsets,” said David Glasco, vice president of research and development for Tensilica IP at Cadence. “The advent of LC3 and wider market trends set the stage for next-generation hearables to offer a superior user experience and longer battery life. With many speech and voice algorithms migrating towards AI, we’re also seeing vastly expanding use cases for analytics and better sound quality in TWS earbuds. The compact HiFi 1 DSP enables these new use cases with ultra-low energy consumption, bringing to the mass market always-on and always-listening capabilities that were until now the privilege of premium products.”

 

About Cadence

Cadence is a pivotal leader in electronic design, building upon more than 30 years of computational software expertise. The company applies its underlying Intelligent System Design strategy to deliver software, hardware and IP that turn design concepts into reality. Cadence customers are the world’s most innovative companies, delivering extraordinary electronic products from chips to boards to systems for the most dynamic market applications, including consumer, hyperscale computing, 5G communications, automotive, mobile, aerospace, industrial and healthcare. For seven years in a row, Fortune magazine has named Cadence one of the 100 Best Companies to Work For. Learn more at cadence.com.

This article is based on a press release by Cadence: https://www.cadence.com/en_US/home/company/newsroom/press-releases/pr/2021/cadence-extends-battery-life-and-improves-user-experience-for-ne.html

 

Header image: © Cadence/ Fraunhofer IIS

This post is also available in: Deutsch 汉语