苹果、亚马逊和安卓产品现已原生支持自适应比特率音频编解码器:xHE-AAC – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© VAKSMANV - stock.adobe.com

苹果、亚马逊和安卓产品现已原生支持自适应比特率音频编解码器:xHE-AAC

搭载了最新安卓,Fire和苹果操作系统的消费电子设备现支持AAC系列最为高效的音频编解码器:xHE-AAC,其中包含MPEG-D DRC响度和动态范围控制元数据功能,即在任何环境下为各种设备提供无缝流媒体音频体验。

目前,越来越多的设备和平台原生支持了xHE-AAC解码,这也意味着音视频流中断或缓冲现象正在成为过去。Fraunhofer与各大内容提供商和操作系统供应商紧密合作,致力于为消费者提供xHE-AAC和MPEG-D DRC服务。搭载了该技术的播放设备将为服务提供商带来更为广阔的用户群体。

xHE-AAC通过DASH或HLS创建自适应流,能够在良好的网络条件下提供透明音质,也可在网络拥堵时无缝切换到可支持的比特率及音质。得益于高效的xHE-AAC,节省下来的带宽还可用于改善视频质量。MPEG-D DRC元数据能够在任何收听环境中提供最佳的用户体验。例如在嘈杂环境下,它能够只增大对白音量且保持原始音频内容不变。

xHE-AAC和MPEG-D DRC现已在谷歌安卓 9、10以及安卓TV 9,亚马逊Fire OS 7(基于Android 9 Pie),苹果iOS 13、macOS 10.15 Catalina、tvOS 13、iPadOS以及watchOS 6操作系统上原生支持。

飞利浦、英伟达、TCL和小米等多家设备制造厂商生产的的首批支持xHE-AAC的Android TV 9设备现已问世,而亚马逊(Fire TV Cube Gen 2,Fire HD 10平板电脑)、Grundig和JVC的基于Fire OS 7的产品已上线。此外, iOS 13设备上的浏览器(Safari,Chrome和Firefox)也已支持了xHE-AAC。

多功能音频编解码器

xHE-AAC使用户能够享受不间断的传输流,适用于诸如电影、音乐、有声读物或播客等所有类型的内容,它也是数字广播的理想选择。 xHE-AAC的立体声可用比特率范围从12 kbit / s到500 kbit / s或更高,这将有助于内容提供商克服音频带宽限制,从而带来更加优质可靠的用户体验。此外,该技术特性在仍然依赖2G或3G网络的新兴市场显得尤其重要。

Fraunhofer在xHE-AAC和MPEG-D DRC标准的开发中发挥了重要作用,并在安卓操作系统中提供了相应代码(位于FDK2 AAC编解码器库中)。

专业的xHE-AAC编码器软件可直接从Fraunhofer IIS或相关设备合作伙伴(如Modulation Index或Telos)处获得。 xHE-AAC和MPEG-D DRC专利包含在由VIA Licensing管理的AAC专利许可计划中,无需支付任何额外费用。

Header image © VAKSMANV – stock.adobe.com

This post is also available in: Deutsch English 한국어

关注我们

Adaptive bit rate audio codec xHE-AAC now natively supported on Apple, Amazon and Android products – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© VAKSMANV - stock.adobe.com

Adaptive bit rate audio codec xHE-AAC now natively supported on Apple, Amazon and Android products

Consumer devices powered by the latest Android, Fire and Apple operating systems support the most efficient AAC codec with mandatory MPEG-D DRC loudness and dynamic range control metadata – delivering a seamless streaming experience on any device in any environment.

A rapidly growing number of platforms and playback devices now support xHE-AAC decoding natively, which means interrupted or buffering audio and video streams are becoming a thing of the past. Fraunhofer has been working closely with major content providers and operating system vendors to make xHE-AAC and MPEG-D DRC available to consumers. These service providers now have an installed base of playback devices which they can rely on to reach a broad consumer audience worldwide.

Created with adaptive streaming via DASH or HLS in mind, xHE-AAC delivers transparent quality under good network conditions and, when necessary, seamlessly switches to the bit rates and quality levels that a congested network can support. Audio bandwidth saved as a result of xHE-AAC’s efficiency can be used to improve the video quality. The mandatory MPEG-D DRC metadata is designed to deliver the best possible user experience in any listening environment. In noisy conditions, for example, it can boost the volume of hard-to-understand dialog while leaving the original audio content untouched.

xHE-AAC and MPEG-D DRC are now natively supported in Google’s Android 9 and 10, as well as Android TV 9, in Amazon’s Fire OS 7 (based on Android 9 Pie) operating system, and on Apple’s iOS 13, macOS 10.15 Catalina, tvOS 13, iPadOS and watchOS 6.

The first Android TV 9 devices with xHE-AAC are available from various manufacturers including Philips, Nvidia, TCL and Xiaomi, while the first Fire OS 7-based products are offered by Amazon (Fire TV Cube Gen 2, Fire HD 10 tablet), Grundig and JVC. xHE-AAC is also supported in browsers (Safari, Chrome and Firefox) on iOS 13 devices.

Versatile audio codec

xHE-AAC enables users of these products to enjoy uninterrupted streaming with all types of content – such as movies, music, audiobooks or podcasts. It is also ideal for digital radio broadcasting. xHE-AAC offers maximum coding efficiency with a usable bit rate range that spans from 12 kbit/s to 500 kbit/s and above for stereo services. This helps video and audio streaming providers to overcome audio bandwidth constraints and thereby facilitates an enhanced, more reliable consumer experience. Such efficiency is particularly crucial in emerging markets where consumers still rely on 2G or 3G connections.

Fraunhofer played a substantial role in the development of the xHE-AAC and MPEG-D DRC standards and provides the default codec implementations for the Android operating system (available in the FDK2 AAC Codec Library).

Professional xHE-AAC encoder software is available directly from Fraunhofer IIS or its streaming equipment partners, such as Modulation Index or Telos. xHE-AAC and MPEG-D DRC patents are included in the AAC patent licensing program administered by VIA Licensing at no additional cost.

Header image © VAKSMANV – stock.adobe.com

This post is also available in: Deutsch 汉语 한국어