全新网页向用户展示xHE-AAC在音质和技术方面的显著优势 – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© Gorodenkoff - stock.adobe.com / Fraunhofer IIS

全新网页向用户展示xHE-AAC在音质和技术方面的显著优势

Fraunhofer在其网站上添加了全新页面,用以展示xHE-AAC在音质和技术方面的显著优势。xHE-AAC是AAC编解码器系列的第四代,有效提升了低码率下的音质,能够在12至500 kbps之间无缝切换,并包含强制响度和动态范围控制技术。

该页面提供了在不同码率下分别用xHE-AAC和HE-AAC编解码的电影和音乐内容。

在电影内容(例如Netflix的Meridian)中,HE-AAC在低码率下所呈现出的语音的粗糙感,在xHE-AAC版本中得到了显著改善。 xHE-AAC包含一个单独的语音编解码器,当系统判断其能提供更好的编码质量时会自动使用,从而极大地减少了语音上可被听到的编码损伤。您还可从xHE-AAC版本中听到额外的细节,例如在影片开始时纸张翻动或结尾处下雨的声音。

xHE-AAC在音乐方面也有很大的改进。用户可在HE-AAC编码的Farewell片段中听到钢琴部分是晃动的,这是由于HE-AAC无法正确分配比特所导致的。在Rain片段的HE-AAC版本中有吉他晃动、因编码导致的吉他混响和立体声声像不清晰的问题。在Walking片段的xHE-AAC版本中能听到立体声声像方面的显著提升。

这些改进使内容分发商采用的低于HE-AAC码率的同时仍保持可接受的音频质量。

同样重要的是xHE-AAC的响度和动态范围控制功能。响度控制功能允许将内容归一化到所需的平均响度水平,从而避免听众频繁的调整音量。动态范围控制功能可调整内容的动态范围,使听众可以在背景噪音高的环境中聆听内容。网页中提供了两个电影片段。用户可打开Masking Noise(模拟噪声)来模拟身处飞机、室外或人潮拥挤的嘈杂环境,亲身体验xHE-AAC动态范围控制在语音清晰度方面的改善。

最后,网页上提供了xHE-AAC的无缝码率切换演示,该演示在24至128kbps范围内每两秒钟切换一次码率而没有任何中断现象。这种切换功能使用户良好的网络环境下可听到高质量的音频,而即使网络状况恶化也可避免丢包。

网页上所有的HE-AAC音频样本均使用Fraunhofer的标准HE-AAC编码器在选定码率下以最佳参数生成,无任何人为干预导致质量变差的因素。

关于xHE-AAC

xHE-AAC是MPEG AAC音频编解码器系列的最新成员。 Fraunhofer在xHE-AAC和MPEG-D DRC标准的开发中发挥了重要作用。最新的Apple,Android和Amazon操作系统和产品均已原生支持xHE-AAC,并且Fraunhofer的xHE-AAC实施最近已获得Microsoft的许可。专业的xHE-AAC编码器软件可直接从Fraunhofer IIS或其流媒体设备合作伙伴处获得。 xHE-AAC和MPEG-D DRC专利包含在VIA Licensing管理的AAC专利许可计划中,无需任何额外费用。

Header image: © Gorodenkoff – stock.adobe.com / Fraunhofer IIS

This post is also available in: Deutsch English 한국어

关注我们

New xHE-AAC web page demonstrates dramatic audio quality improvements and user benefits – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© Gorodenkoff - stock.adobe.com / Fraunhofer IIS

New xHE-AAC web page demonstrates dramatic audio quality improvements and user benefits

Fraunhofer has added a new page to its website to illustrate the dramatic improvements and distinct benefits that xHE-AAC offers to consumers and service providers alike over previous AAC generations such as HE-AAC. The fourth generation of the AAC codec family, xHE-AAC, improves audio quality at lower bit rates, allows seamless streaming over a 12 to 500 kbit/s bit rate range, and includes mandatory loudness and dynamic range control technology.

The page allows a visitor to hear audio samples of film and music content encoded and decoded at several bit rates with both xHE-AAC and the legacy HE-AAC codec.

On film content, such as Netflix’s Meridian item, the roughness of speech reproduced by the HE-AAC codec at low bit rates is substantially reduced by xHE-AAC. xHE-AAC includes a separate speech codec that is automatically used when it provides a better encoding quality, allowing the audible coding artifacts on speech to be greatly reduced. On this item, one can also hear the increased audio bandwidth provided by xHE-AAC, heard for example on papers shuffling at the beginning or the rain at the end of the item.

On music, xHE-AAC also offers substantial improvements. On the Farewell item on the site, warbling artifacts, typical when HE-AAC is unable to properly allocate bits, are heard on the piano. On the Walking item, stereo image improvements are shown. The Rain item includes both warbling on the guitar and a less precise stereo image with HE-AAC. This latter item also illustrates codec-induced reverberation on the guitar notes with HE-AAC.

These improvements will allow content distributors to use lower bit rates with xHE-AAC than was possible with HE-AAC, while still maintaining acceptable audio quality.

Equally important is xHE-AAC’s mandatory loudness and dynamic range control capability. The loudness control feature allows content to be normalized to a desired average loudness level, avoiding irritating listeners with frequent volume control adjustments. The dynamic range control feature allows tailoring the content’s dynamic range so it can be enjoyed in difficult listening environments with high background noise. The site allows playback of two film items with and without dynamic range control applied. Visitors can switch on masking noise to hear the effectiveness of xHE-AAC’s dynamic range control on intelligibility of dialogue when they are listening in noisy situations such as on an airplane, outdoors, or in a crowded place.

Finally, the site includes a demonstration of the seamless audio bit rate switching provided by xHE-AAC, switching bit rates every two seconds over a 24 to 128 kbit/s range with no audible artifacts. This switching capability allows listeners to hear high quality audio when they are streaming over a good network connection, yet avoid dropouts if network conditions worsen.

The HE-AAC audio samples on the site were produced with Fraunhofer’s standard HE-AAC encoder implementation operating at its best for the bit rates selected – they were not “made worse” in any way.

About xHE-AAC

xHE-AAC is the latest member of the MPEG AAC audio codec family. Fraunhofer played a substantial role in the development of xHE-AAC and the MPEG-D DRC standard. xHE-AAC is natively supported in the latest Apple, Android and Amazon operating systems and products, and Fraunhofer’s xHE-AAC implementation has recently been licensed to Microsoft. Professional xHE-AAC encoder software is available directly from Fraunhofer IIS or its streaming equipment partners. xHE-AAC and MPEG-D DRC patents are included in the AAC patent licensing program administered by VIA Licensing at no additional cost.

Header image: © Gorodenkoff – stock.adobe.com / Fraunhofer IIS

This post is also available in: Deutsch 汉语 한국어