全球首个支持MPEG-H Audio的广电编码器问世 – Fraunhofer Audio Blog

全球首个支持MPEG-H Audio的广电编码器问世

韩国DS Broadcast和Kai Media成为了全球首个拥有支持MPEG-H Audio的专业广电编码器的广播电视设备制造商。来自DS Broadcast的4K超高清编码器BGE9000和Kai Media的KME-U4K编码器均采用了Fraunhofer MPEG-H Audio软件,从而为用户带来全新的交互沉浸式声音效果。目前,MPEG-H Audio正在部署于韩国的电视机和专业设备中,并将在2017年起正式实施的ATSC 3.0广播系统中正式应用。因此,MPEG-H Audio将有望成为首个被广播公司应用于现场直播的下一代全新音频系统。

集成MPEG-H Audio软件将为广播设备制造商带来以下特色功能:

  • 互动式音频:使用者将能够根据自己的喜好调整混音效果,例如:在体育赛事中选择不同的评论员。
  • 沉浸式音效:正如由立体声转变到环绕声一样,MPEG-H添加了3D音频元素,从而能够带来真实的沉浸式声音体验。
The BGE9000 4K Ultra HD Encoder supports MPEG-H Audio.
4K超高清编码器BGE9000支持MPEG-H Audio

DS Broadcast的4K超高清编码器BGE9000基于高度可靠的硬件设备,广泛应用于广电领域,例如地面、有线、卫星和IPTV。设备制造商为他们的专业广电编码器选用了MPEG-H Audio软件,从而使得BGE9000编码器能够提供沉浸式和互动式音效,并显著提升沉浸式4K超高清图像、帧率以及质量。

DS Broadcast的CTO, Harry Chang表示:“广电专业人士常常期待我们的编码器能够带来最卓越的质量。在此,我们非常高兴地宣布BGE9000 4K超高清编码器采用了MPEG-H Audio,作为首个在韩国市场采用MPEG-H Audio软件的企业之一,我们将为用户带来沉浸和互动式音效。”

The KME-U4K broadcast encoder supports MPEG-H Audio.
4K超高清编码器BGE9000支持MPEG-H Audio

Kai Media的KME-U4K编码器是一款可靠的高性能4K超高清直播编码器。在服务器上采用专业硬件开发的KME-U4K,能够在保持实用性和灵活性的同时提供杰出的性能。采用Fraunhofer IIS的MPEG-H Audio编码器软件为KME-U4K增添了诸如实时4K超高清编码和4个全高清声道等功能。

Kai Media总监Jin Suk Kwak表示:“作为一个为广播电视公司提供各种应用于国际视频和音频标准技术的功能性解决方案厂商,MPEG-H Audio具备的特色功能将使我们成为行业的引领者。我们非常荣幸能够在4K超高清直播编码器中采用MPEG-H Audio软件,这一应用将为专业广播电视客户带来互动式音频和沉浸式音效。“
MPEG-H Audio能够为广播电视公司和流媒体服务提供商在相对较低的比特率和成本下提供未来流媒体和电视音频内容。目前,ATSC 3.0 音频标准正在考虑将 MPEG-H Audio纳入下一代超高清电视标准。

参会者能够在2016年美国NAB展会 SU6716展位,和在首尔举办的2016年KOBA展会D340展位上体验Fraunhofer MPEG-H Audio带来的卓越音频效果。

This post is also available in: Deutsch English 한국어

关注我们

Fraunhofer Audio Blog

First broadcast encoders with MPEG-H Audio launched

April 18, 2016 | Category: Audio

Korean broadcast equipment manufacturers DS Broadcast and Kai Media are the first to launch professional broadcast encoders supporting MPEG-H Audio. The BGE9000 4K Ultra HD Encoder by DS Broadcast and the KME-U4K Encoder by Kai Media both use the Fraunhofer MPEG-H Audio software to offer new interactive and immersive sound features. MPEG-H Audio likely will be the first new audio system put on the air by broadcasters, as it now is being built into TVs and professional equipment for Korean ATSC 3.0 broadcasts that will start in 2017.

The integration of MPEG-H Audio software will offer broadcast equipment customers features such as:

  • Interactive audio: Consumers will have the ability to adjust the sound mix to their preferences, for example choosing between different commentators in a sporting event;
  • Immersive sound: Comparable to moving from stereo to surround sound, MPEG-H adds 3D audio components to deliver a truly immersive experience.
The BGE9000 4K Ultra HD Encoder supports MPEG-H Audio.

The BGE9000 4K Ultra HD Encoder supports MPEG-H Audio.

DS Broadcast’s BGE9000 4K Ultra HD Encoder is based on highly reliable hardware for use in broadcast applications such as terrestrial, cable, satellite, and IPTV. The manufacturer adopted the MPEG-H Audio encoder software for its professional broadcast encoder, enhancing the truly immersive 4K UHD images, frame rate and quality provided by the BGE9000 encoder with immersive and interactive sound.

“Broadcast professionals have come to expect the highest level of quality from our encoder products. We are pleased to announce the integration of MPEG-H Audio in the BGE9000 4K Ultra HD Encoder. Our encoder is one of the first in the Korean marketplace to adopt the MPEG-H Audio software that will provide immersive and interactive sound to consumers,” said Harry Chang, CTO, from DS Broadcast, Inc.

The KME-U4K broadcast encoder supports MPEG-H Audio.

The KME-U4K broadcast encoder supports MPEG-H Audio.

Kai Media’s KME-U4K is a high-performance and notably reliable 4K UHD live encoder. Developed with dedicated hardware on a server, KME-U4K provides outstanding functionality while remaining practical and flexible. The adoption of the MPEG-H Audio encoder software from Fraunhofer IIS adds advanced audio features in addition to real-time encoding up to 4K Ultra-HD and four Full-HD channels.

“As a developer of a variety of functional solutions for broadcasters that utilize international video and audio standard techniques, the added benefits and features of MPEG-H Audio will be an industry game changer. We are pleased to announce our early adoption of the MPEG-H Audio software for our 4K UHD live encoder, which offers professional broadcast customers features such as interactive audio and immersive sound,” said Jin Suk Kwak, Director from Kai Media.

MPEG-H Audio allows broadcasters and streaming services to deliver the future of streaming and TV audio at comparably low bit rates and in a cost-effective manner. MPEG-H Audio is under consideration for next-generation UHDTV broadcast standards and for ATSC 3.0 audio standard.
Visitors can experience MPEG-H Audio at Fraunhofer’s booth SU6716 at NAB 2016 in Las Vegas and at booth D340 at KOBA 2016 in Seoul.


Comments are Closed