全球首创:Globo成功将MPEG-H Audio应用于里约摇滚音乐节ISDB-Tb地面超高清电视系统和5G网络直播 – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© Adrian Murtaza/Fraunhofer IIS

全球首创:Globo成功将MPEG-H Audio应用于里约摇滚音乐节ISDB-Tb地面超高清电视系统和5G网络直播

里约摇滚音乐节是全球最大的音乐节之一,拥有超过100万观众,本次音乐节采用MPEG-H AudioISDB-Tb地面电视服务、HLS流媒体和5G网络中进行了现场直播。近日,SBTVD Forum(巴西数字电视系统)选择MPEG-H Audio作为其下一代音频标准,并希望通过这一新技术提升其服务吸引力。这也是巴西首次采用MPEG-H Audio进行端到端现场直播。

巴西最大的媒体集团Globo在全球最大的音乐节——里约摇滚音乐节期间,成功将MPEG-H Audio集成于其增强型ISDB-Tb系统中进行了现场直播。其中“Mundo”和“Sunset”两个主舞台上的音乐表演在里约热内卢地区通过MPEG-H Audio以沉浸式和个性化音效播出。此外,Technicolor的HDR技术提升了直播视频质量,目前SBTVD Forum正在考虑采用该技术。

借助MPEG-H Audio技术,电视观众能够犹如亲临现场一般欣赏音乐会,可自主调节音频内容比例关系并制定个性化设置。在为期七天的里约摇滚音乐节里,观众能在音乐节会场的Globo和Globo play展位通过平板电脑和耳机双声道渲染体验MPEG-H Audio沉浸式音效及其个性化功能。在Globosat的办公室里,Fraunhofer演示了MPEG-H Audio的易用性,通过支持这一技术的森海塞尔Ambeo条形音箱将沉浸式音效带入居家环境中。

采用5.1环绕声+四个高度扬声器的沉浸式混音由Globosat音响工程师制作。此外,Globosat还提供了几个单声道和立体声元素,适用于环境声、乐器声或人声。Fraunhofer音响工程师使用这些元素来丰富基于音频对象的现场混音,通过增强环境声或将人声移动至上层扬声器,为用户带来个性化体验。除沉浸式音频外,个性化是MPEG-H Audio显著提高广播电视服务吸引力的关键特性之一。

相同的MPEG-H Audio内容实现同时在多个分发平台上交付。除了ISDB-Tb地面广播外,还提供采用MPEG-H Audio的HLS流媒体服务,并通过商用LG电视机还放MPEG-H音频流。在罗德与施瓦茨公司的支持下,MPEG-H Audio被嵌入实验性广播超高频(电视)频道中,并在巴西进行了首次5G广播传输现场测试。ATEME的TITAN Live编码器同时创建了以上三种服务。根据SBTVD规范,ISDB-Tb服务还包含用于传统接收设备的HE-AAC音频流,而MPEG-H音频流可与支持了MPEG-H的接收器和条形音箱共同使用。

Fraunhofer IIS技术与标准部高级经理Adrian Murtaza表示:“在里约摇滚音乐节期间,我们携手Globo在巴西首次采用MPEG-H Audio进行端到端现场直播,这是一次非凡的体验。我们很高兴能够展示MPEG-H Audio的功能和优势,并且完美诠释了这一技术的系统易用性。这一重大成就是我们支持Globo与巴西媒体行业在其常规服务中使用MPEG-H Audio长期承诺的开始。”

Globo全新传输技术部负责人Leonardo Chaves表示:“这项成就意义非凡。在2019年里约摇滚音乐节期间,我们能够以向后兼容模式播出最优质的音频和视频内容,包括个性化沉浸式音频和HDR视频。基于增强型ISDB-Tb(当前免费的电视播出系统)的新特性,所有工作均以高效且大规模的方式完成。此外,所有优质内容均通过地面5G广播在实验性超高频(电视)频道中分发,这是我们对下一代电视战略布局的一部分。”

关于MPEG-H Audio

MPEG-H Audio可带来身临其境的沉浸式音效体验,并让用户能够根据个人喜好调节混音效果,例如:切换评论语言、调节评论音量、增强对白以及选择不同的音频描述。凭借其特有的个性化功能,广电运营商和视频流媒体服务提供商能够为其客户带来更多的高级辅助功能服务(advanced accessibility services),同时通用统一传输的理念则为各种电子设备和收听环境带来最佳还放效果。

MPEG-H Audio在巴西的首个验证性测试于2019年里约热内卢狂欢节期间由Fraunhofer IIS和TV Globo联合实施,该测试主要用于评估支持个性化功能的制作工具,例如让用户提升对白音量或选择没有评论声的“Sambadrome”版节目内容。随后,世界领先的MPEG-H广播和流媒体服务音频系统顺利入选巴西数字电视系统ISDB-Tb的新增音频系统。

此外,MPEG-H Audio已被纳入ATSC 3.0、DVB和3GPP标准。MPEG-H Audio已正式应用于韩国基于ATSC 3.0的全新地面超高清电视系统中,也使其成为了全球首个商用的下一代广播电视音频系统。

集成了MPEG-H技术的专业广电设备(编码器和监听解决方案)、解码器以及消费电子产品(电视机和条形音箱)已陆续问世。

Header image © Adrian Murtaza/Fraunhofer IIS

This post is also available in: Deutsch English 한국어

关注我们

A world’s first: Globo successfully used MPEG-H Audio for ISDB‑Tb terrestrial and 5G broadcast during Rock in Rio   – Fraunhofer Audio Blog
© Adrian Murtaza/Fraunhofer IIS

A world’s first: Globo successfully used MPEG-H Audio for ISDB‑Tb terrestrial and 5G broadcast during Rock in Rio  

Rock in Rio, one of the largest music festivals in the world, with over a million people attending, was broadcast live over the ISDB-Tb terrestrial TV service, HLS streaming and 5G using MPEG-H Audio, as recently adopted by the SBTVD (Sistema Brasileiro de Televisão Digital / Brazilian Digital Television System) Forum to increase the attractiveness of the services. It was the first live end-to-end broadcast using MPEG-H Audio in Brazil.

Globo, the largest media group in Brazil, successfully used MPEG-H Audio for a live broadcast over the enhanced ISDB-Tb system during one of the world’s biggest music festivals, Rock in Rio. Using the MPEG-H Audio format, the musical performances on the two main stages, “Mundo” and “Sunset,” were delivered over the air with immersive and personalized sound in the Rio de Janeiro area. In addition, an enhanced video quality was provided using Advanced HDR by Technicolor, which is currently under consideration for adoption in the SBTVD Forum.

With MPEG-H Audio, the viewers were able to experience the concerts as if they were present at the venue and moreover had the opportunity to interact with the audio content and personalize it. During the seven days of Rock in Rio, the public was able to experience MPEG‑H immersive sound and its advanced personalization options using tablets and binaural rendering over headphones at the Globo and Globoplay booths at the festival venue. In the offices of Globosat, Fraunhofer demonstrated the ease of use of MPEG-H, bringing immersive sound into any living room with the MPEG-H-enabled Sennheiser Ambeo soundbar, which offers studio-grade sound quality.

The immersive mix using 5.1 surround plus four height channels was produced by Globosat sound engineers. Additionally, Globosat made available several mono and stereo stems for ambience, instruments or vocals. Fraunhofer sound engineers used these stems to enrich the live mix with audio objects, enabling personalization of the user experience by enhancing the level of the ambience or moving the vocals into the height loudspeaker layer. Besides immersive audio, personalization is one of the key features of MPEG-H Audio to dramatically improve the attractiveness of a service.

The same MPEG-H Audio production was simultaneously delivered over multiple distribution platforms. Besides the ISDB-Tb terrestrial broadcast, an HLS streaming service using MPEG‑H Audio was offered, with commercially available LG TV sets playing back the MPEG-H Audio stream. And with the support of Rohde & Schwarz, MPEG-H Audio was embedded in an experimental broadcasting UHF channel for the first 5G broadcast transmission field test in Brazil. ATEME’s TITAN Live encoder created all three services in parallel. According to the SBTVD specification, the ISDB‑Tb service also contained an HE-AAC audio stream, which was used for legacy receiving devices, while the MPEG‑H audio stream could be consumed with MPEG-H-enabled receivers and soundbars.

“It was an amazing experience for us to work with Globo during Rock in Rio for setting up the first live end-to-end broadcast using MPEG-H Audio in Brazil. The complexity of such major events is really impressive. We are very happy that we could show the capabilities and advantages of MPEG-H and at the same time demonstrate how easy it is to integrate MPEG‑H Audio into such a setup. This major achievement represents only the beginning of our long-term commitment to supporting Globo and the Brazilian media industry in using MPEG-H Audio in their regular services,” says Adrian Murtaza, Senior Manager Technology and Standards at Fraunhofer IIS.

“It was a remarkable achievement. During the Rock in Rio 2019 event, we were able to deliver audio and video contents in the highest quality, including personalized immersive sound and HDR video, over the air in backward compatible mode. Everything was done in an efficient and massive way based on new features of the enhanced ISDB-Tb, our current free to air television system. Also, all these premium contents were distributed through terrestrial 5G broadcast in an experimental UHF channel, which is part of our strategy and investigations towards the next generation TV,” says Leonardo Chaves, Head of New Transmission Technologies at Globo.

Header image © Adrian Murtaza/Fraunhofer IIS

This post is also available in: Deutsch 汉语 한국어