埃尔朗根国际音频实验室项目与人员系列报道3

与Nils Peters一起创造声音物联网

2020 年 6 月,Nils Peters博士以副教授的身份加入了爱尔兰根国际音频实验室,并负责带领团队进行物联网音频信号处理领域的研究。

预计到 2030 年,全球将有超过 250 亿台设备实现相互通信并交换信息。Peters博士深知物联网 (IoT) 正在不断地开辟新的领域。因此,他与Fraunhofer IIS 的专家一起研究物联网中音频应用的可能性,并主要专注于声音物联网(IoS)。

互联设备在音乐领域充满着无限可能。即使位于不同地方的乐队成员也能够实现共同排练;在虚拟音乐会上,艺术家可以通过感知和捕捉观众的情绪,并根据实时反馈调整他们的表演曲目。此外,其他应用领域还包括音乐制作和音乐教育等等。未来的应用程序和智能仪器将将实现在练习过程中精确地分析错误并改进他们。为了确保个性化的用户体验,此类应用程序需拥有高质量且低延迟的音频。

声音物联网能够传输人类和机器创造和消费的音频和相关数据。目前Peters博士的研究工作集中在以下几个领域:数据安全及用户隐私、小型边缘设备的高效算法,以及在云端工作的各种设备的分布式算法。应用场景包括传感器网络,例如支持空间感知声学事件监测应用的麦克风阵列。目前,许多设备,例如智能手机,已经具备了录音和播放功能。在设备的广泛可用性下,形成声音物联网应用的优势在于成本低,与其他传感器(如相机)相比,麦克风的制造成本更为低廉。

为了创建一个强大的分布式麦克风阵列声音物联网应用程序,需要将不同类型的设备连接到同一网络,并高效地快速交换相关的声学数据。这将成为一个挑战。例如,未来的智能手机很有可能将复杂任务的处理外包给附近的数据中心,并需在最短的时间内收到结果反馈。这是一个非常实用的应用,但它安全吗?网络越复杂、计算能力越分散,就越难以保证其安全性。

Peters教授及其团队的研究为声音物联网提供了无数的可能性和开放式的问题。他一直喜欢探索复杂的跨学科话题,并先后在奥地利、加拿大和美国积累了丰富的知识与经验,其中包括空间声学、心理声学、信号处理和机器学习。他的学术生涯始于格拉茨音乐与表演艺术大学和格拉茨科技大学,获得了电气工程和声音工程硕士学位。随后他在蒙特利尔麦吉尔大学获得了音乐技术博士学位,在音乐感知与认知实验室(MPCL)斯蒂芬·麦克亚当斯(Stephen McAdams)教授的指导下,研究空间音频感知,并开发了能够提升听觉体验的空间音频渲染工具。随后,他在加州大学伯克利分校的国际计算机科学研究所(ICSI)、新音乐和音频技术中心(CNMAT)和并行计算实验室进行了博士后研究。他专注于144个声道麦克风阵列的多声道音频处理的技术能力和应用研究。在加入AudioLabs之前,Peters教授曾在圣地亚哥的高通工作,并开发了空间音频场景分析和3D音频编码的相关算法,其中一些算法被应用到MPEG-H 三维声ISO标准中。

Peters教授乐于分享他广泛的国际和跨学科的专业知识,并鼓励学生通过科学和创造性的视角来探索音频信号处理。自2013年以来,他担任音频工程学会空间音频技术委员会的联合主席,推动并创建了AES纽伦堡学生会,并担任他们的教师顾问。

 

This post is also available in: English

关注我们

The International Audio Laboratories Erlangen – Projects and People

Part III: Creating The Internet of Sound with Nils Peters.

In June 2020, Dr. Nils Peters joined the International Audio Laboratories Erlangen as Associate Professor. His group conducts research in “Audio Signal Processing for the Internet of Things.”

By 2030, more than 25 billion devices are expected to communicate and exchange information with each other. Dr. Peters knows the Internet of Things (IoT) is opening new application areas. Together with the experts at Fraunhofer IIS, he researches the possibilities of audio applications in IoT. In this context, his focus is on the Internet of Sound (IoS).

For example, connected devices offer numerous possibilities in the field of music. Band members can rehearse their songs even if they are physically separated from one another. At virtual concerts, the mood of the audience can be sensed and captured, allowing artists real-time feedback to adapt their setlist to changing moods. Other areas of application include music production and music education. Future apps and smart instruments make it possible to precisely analyze errors during practice sessions and thus improve on them. To ensure personalized user experiences, it is essential that the audio quality of such applications is high and latency is low, as the experts at Fraunhofer IIS know.

The IoS transmits audio and related data that humans and machines create and consume. Here, Prof. Peters’ research work currently focuses on several areas, such as data security and user privacy, efficient algorithms for small edge devices, and distributed algorithms for several types of devices working in and with the cloud. Examples include sensor networks, like microphone arrays, that enable spatially aware acoustic event detection applications. Since many devices, such as smartphones, already have audio recording and playback capabilities, the advantages to forming IoS networks with this wide availability of devices are efficient application costs. Microphones are cheaper to manufacture and operate than other sensors, such as cameras.

To create a powerful, distributed microphone array IoS application, connecting different types of devices into one network and efficiently exchanging the relevant acoustic data quickly, is challenging. A smartphone could outsource the processing of a complex task to a near data center and receive the result back in the shortest possible time. This would be very practical – but would it be secure, too? The more complex the networks and the more distributed the computing power, the more difficult it becomes to ensure privacy and security.

Prof. Nils Peters

Clearly, the IoS offers numerous possibilities and open questions for research that Prof. Peters investigates with his team. He has always enjoyed exploring complex, interdisciplinary topics. His amassed experience and knowledge in Austria, Canada, and the U.S. includes room acoustics, psychoacoustics, signal processing, and machine learning. He graduated with a Masters of Science in electrical engineering and audio engineering at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz and the Graz University of Technology. He earned a PhD in Music Technology from McGill University, Montreal, where he studied spatial auditory perception and developed spatial audio rendering tools to improve the audience’s listening experience under the supervision of Prof. Stephen McAdams in the Music Perception and Cognition Lab (MPCL). He then conducted post-doctoral research at the International Computer Science Institute (ICSI), the Center for New Music and Audio Technologies (CNMAT) and the Parallel Computing Laboratory at the University of California, Berkeley. His focus was on the technical capabilities and applications for multichannel audio processing for a 144-channel microphone array. Before joining the AudioLabs, Prof. Peters worked for Qualcomm, Inc., in San Diego and developed algorithms for spatial audio scene analysis and 3D audio coding. Some of these algorithms were integrated into the MPEG-H 3D Audio ISO standard.

Prof. Peters enjoys sharing his extensive international and interdisciplinary expertise and encouraging students to explore audio signal processing through a scientific and creative lens. As co-chair of the Audio Engineering Society’s Spatial Audio Technical Committee since 2013, he facilitated founding the AES Student Section Erlangen-Nürnberg and serves as their faculty advisor.

Have you read parts one and two of the series?

This post is also available in: 汉语