群龙吟啸: MPEG-H, Cingo和EVS技术亮相世界移动通信大会 – Fraunhofer Audio Blog

群龙吟啸: MPEG-H, Cingo和EVS技术亮相世界移动通信大会

巴塞罗那世界移动通信大会期间,Fraunhofer IIS向参会者展示了多项先进的音频技术和解决方案。从LG 360 VR发布会上宣布采用Fraunhofer Cingo和HE-AAC技术到装载EVS技术芯片可用性的发布,整个展览宣传围绕着两大热点话题,即虚拟现实设备上的3D声音技术和高质量的语音通话。此外,在本次巴塞罗那展会上,参会者能够发现许多条龙呦!

虚拟现实设备上的3D声音

Vorführung der LG 360 VR am LG Stand
LG展位发布LG 360 VR现场

今年,世界移动通信大会的热点趋势之一就是虚拟现实设备及应用,其中三星和LG两家厂商备受关注。三星通过令人瞩目的动感影院来展示其Gear VR头戴式设备所营造的虚拟现实体验。此外,Samsung Gear VR成功装载了Fraunhofer Cingo和HE-AAC技术并成为首个问世并具备开发者版本的终端设备。与此同时,在展会的3号展馆,LG发布了其最新的LG 360 VR设备。Fraunhofer Cingo 和 HE-AAC技术为该设备带来无与伦比的音频体验。

除了三星和LG的展台,Fraunhofer IIS在展位上也演示了虚拟现实设备上的3D声音效果。从复杂的3D声音捕获算法、后期制作工具和数字音频工作站,到用于传递和还放3D声音MPEG-H 和Cingo,Fraunhofer IIS展示了内容制作者和设备制造商在营造虚拟现实设备上3D声音效果时所需要的每一个重要技术。参会者有机会通过由Fraunhofer IIS 研发的数字音频工作站插件来现场混合巨龙咆哮的3D声音效果,进而体验并沉浸在虚拟现实设备中。

更多展品介绍,欢迎阅读TechRadar.com上的文章 (http://www.techradar.com/news/audio/immerse-yourself-how-the-audio-experts-are-bringing-3d-sound-to-vr-1315573)

Die MPEG-H VR Demo am Qualcomm-Stand
高通展位展示MPEG-H VR展品

作为MPEG-H音频联盟的成员,高通也在展位上展示了虚拟现实设备上的MPEG-H技术。参会者可以在高通的展位上体验另外一条巨龙带来的震撼体验,即从不同方位传向用户耳边的低声细语。

改善VoLTE通话体验的EVS技术

高通也在其展位上演示了EVS技术,并且很好地诠释了全新的3GPP VoLTE音频编解码器的优势。相较于目前市场上普通或者高清语音通话,VoLTE能够在不改变必要数据速率的前提下,提供更为高质量的语音效果。目前,EVS成功集成于Snapdragon 820芯片上。没错,这就是展位上的另一条龙。一旦运营商开始支持该编解码器,任何搭载了这款芯片的手机将支持EVS音频编解码器,进而用户可以获得高质量的语音通话服务。另外,在世界移动通信大会期间,高通还公布了目前支持该芯片的手机,其中包括:Sony Xperia X Performance,LG G5,Xiaomi MI5以及特定模型的Samsung Galaxy S7。

Qualcomm stellte EVS als „Ultra HD Voice“ vor
高通展示能够带来超高清语音通话的EVS技术

在高通展位上展出的EVS技术演示了一个现场版的VoLTE通话,通过搭载了Snapdragon 820芯片的索尼智能手机和具备VoLTE通话配置的爱立信IMS服务器实现,并通过一个信号发射器模拟丢包。这个演示能够让参会者对比EVS带来的高质量音频对话与AMR-WB编解码器带来的HD语音通话在真实网络环境下的差别。

Zusätzlich zur Live-Demo konnten Besucher des Fraunhofer Standes die hervorragende Audioqualität von EVS in einer Offline-Demo vergleichen.
用户还可以在Fraunhofer展位通过文件演示来对比EVS技术所带来的卓越音频体验

同样,在Fraunhofer展台,参会者也能够根据同样原理和技术拨打现场电话,并在普通通话、HD语音通话和EVS通话之间自由切换。

能够在本次展会期间感受到人们对娱乐和通信系统中卓越音频体验的热情,我们十分的开心。而我们也将一直致力于为移动音频领域带来先进并卓越的技术,例如:Cingo, MPEG-H Audio 和 EVS。

This post is also available in: Deutsch English

关注我们

Fraunhofer Audio Blog

Roaring Dragons: MPEG-H, Cingo and EVS at Mobile World Congress

February 26, 2016 | Category: Events & Tradeshows

At Mobile World Congress 2016 in Barcelona, there were several exciting highlights for Fraunhofer IIS. Starting with the announcement of the LG 360 VR featuring Fraunhofer Cingo and HE-AAC to the availability of phones with EVS enabled chipsets, the show struck a strong tone for trends for 3D sound for VR and high-quality phone calls. Also, a surprisingly high number of dragons could be seen and heard in Barcelona.

3D Sound for VR

Presentation of the LG 360 VR at the LG booth

Presentation of the LG 360 VR at the LG booth

A major trend at Mobile World Congress was virtual reality devices and applications, with demonstrations by Samsung and LG sticking out from the crowd. Samsung installed an impressive motion ride theater to demonstrate the realistic virtual reality experience of the Gear VR headset. Samsung’s Gear VR has come equipped with Fraunhofer Cingo and HE-AAC technology since its first appearance in the market as a developer’s edition. On the other side of the aisle in Hall 3, LG introduced its brand new LG 360 VR headset. Fraunhofer Cingo and HE-AAC also bring an impressive audio experience to the users of the new LG360 VR headset.

In addition to Samsung and LG’s exhibits, Fraunhofer IIS demonstrated its capabilities in the field of 3D sound for virtual reality at the Fraunhofer booth. From sophisticated algorithms for capturing 3D sound to post-production tools for digital audio work stations, and MPEG-H and Cingo for the delivery and rendering of 3D sound, Fraunhofer IIS showed everything content producers and device manufacturers need to setup an impressive 3D sound experience for virtual reality. Visitors to the Fraunhofer booth were able to use a DAW plugin developed by Fraunhofer IIS to live mix 3D sound of a roaring dragon and afterwards fully immersive themselves in a virtual reality experience.

To learn more about our demos, please see this article on TechRadar.com: http://www.techradar.com/news/audio/immerse-yourself-how-the-audio-experts-are-bringing-3d-sound-to-vr-1315573

The MPEG-H VR demo at the Qualcomm booth

The MPEG-H VR demo at the Qualcomm booth

Qualcomm, a member of the MPEG-H Audio Alliance, also showcased an MPEG-H based virtual reality demo. Visitors to Qualcomm’s booth were able to experience another dragon, whispering into the ears of the users from different locations.

EVS for Improved VoLTE Calls

Qualcomm also presented an EVS demo at their booth. This demonstration showed the capabilities of the new 3GPP Voice over LTE (VoLTE) codec. VoLTE provides highly improved voice quality compared to today’s regular or HD Voice phone calls without increasing the necessary data rate. EVS is now an integrated part of the Snapdragon 820 chipset – yes, another dragon on the show floor. Any phone using this chipset will eventually be capable of handling EVS phone calls as long as the operator supports the codec. Several phones with this chipset were introduced at Mobile World Congress, for example Sony Xperia X Performance, LG G5, Xiaomi MI5 and certain models of the Samsung Galaxy S7.

Qualcomm demoed EVS as "Ultra HD Voice"

Qualcomm demoed EVS as “Ultra HD Voice”

The EVS demo at Qualcomm’s booth demonstrated a live VoLTE call using smartphones from Sony with the Snapdragon 820 chipset and an Ericsson IMS server for the VoLTE call setup. A signal generator simulated packet loss. This complete setup allowed visitors to compare the high audio and voice quality of EVS to the HD Voice codec AMR-WB under real-life network conditions.

In addition to the live demo, visitors of the Fraunhofer booth could compare the great audio quality of EVS in a file based demo.

In addition to the live demo, visitors of the Fraunhofer booth could compare the great audio quality of EVS in a file based demo.

In a similar demo at the Fraunhofer booth, visitors were able to make live phone calls with the option to switch between regular, HD Voice and EVS.

At this year’s show, it was exciting to feel the buzz and level of enthusiasm around the idea of the perfect audio experience for entertainment and communication systems. And again, Fraunhofer IIS was able to validate its leadership position in the field of mobile audio through Cingo, MPEG-H Audio and EVS.


Comments are Closed