全球首个搭载MPEG-H AUDIO的地面超高清电视服务 – Fraunhofer Audio Blog

全球首个搭载MPEG-H AUDIO的地面超高清电视服务

让用户在家中领略体育场馆中的声音效果,仿佛置身于足球赛现场一般,这是全新MPEG-H Audio众多技术特征之一。近日,韩国电信技术标准组织协会(TTA)宣布:专门为下一代电视和流媒体研发的音频编解码器(MPEG-H Audio)已经成功应用于韩国地面超高清电视标准中。如若在今年9月通过政府官员的审批,MPEG-H Audio将成为全球首个应用于4K电视系统中的音频技术,并为用户带来全新的声音体验。据悉,该标准将于2017年2月正式发布。

沉浸及交互式声音

包含了MPEG-H Audio的TTA超高清电视标准成为首个应用于地面4K电视系统中的下一代音频编解码器。MPEG-H Audio由Fraunhofer IIS主力研发。该编解码器能够支持沉浸和交互式声音,并根据使用者的个人喜好调整混音效果。例如,在收看体育赛事时选择聆听不同的评论员的解说。此外,配备了3D音频组件的MPEG-H Audio还能够带来真实的沉浸式声音体验。得益于以上技术特征,电视观众不仅能够欣赏具备3D声音效果的电影,还能够身临其境地享受体育赛事和音乐会。

目前,MPEG-H已经成功集成于支持韩国地面超高清电视系统的电视机和专业设备中。近日,韩国广播电视设备制造商DS Broadcast 和Kai Media宣布:MPEG-H Audio集成于其最新的4K编码器中。更多产品应用公告将在今年秋天发布。

ATSC 3.0标准中的MPEG-H Audio

MPEG-H Audio是ATSC 3.0 A/342音频候选标准 (http://www.tvtechnology.com/news/0002/atsc-a32-audio-elevated-to-candidate-standard/278594) 之一。韩国TTA标准(地面超高清电视广播服务的传输与接收 http://www.tta.or.kr/English/new/standardization/eng_ttastddesc.jsp?stdno=TTAK.KO-07.0127)基于ATSC 3.0并指定MPEG-H Audio作为唯一的音频编解码器。根据韩国政府代表决议,首尔市区将成为首个接收超高清电视服务的地区。此后,该项服务将扩展至2018年冬季奥林匹克运动会场地所属的平昌地区。直至2021年,该服务将在全国普及。

目前,MPEG-H Audio编解码器已经能够应用于广播电视系统,Fraunhofer IIS 也在系列展会活动中展示了该项技术。在今年5月举办的位于首尔的KOBA展会中,Fraunhofer IIS 展示了采用MPEG-H Audio技术的完整的ATSC 3.0端到端广播链。通过展会期间举办的研讨会,广播电视公司以及行业相关人士有机会学习并了解到全新编解码器为他们及用户带来的卓越音频体验。

更多关于MPEG-H Audio的信息,请参见Fraunhofer官网mpeghaa.com

现场展示

Auf der KOBA in Seoul, Korea, wurde MPEG-H Audio in einer Live 4K TV-Sendekette präsentiert.

在今年的KOBA展会上,Fraunhofer IIS联合硬件设备制造商ETRI, Kai Media和DS Broadcast展示采用了MPEG-H Audio技术的4K现场直播链。

This post is also available in: Deutsch English 한국어

关注我们

Fraunhofer Audio Blog

World’s 1st Terrestrial UHD TV Service With MPEG-H Audio

June 30, 2016 | Category: Broadcasting, Good to know, Success Stories
MPEG-H Audio offers interactivity

Experiencing the stadium sound in your own living room as if you were present at the football match is just one feature of the new MPEG-H Audio technology. Specifically developed for next generation television and streaming systems, the audio codec is now part of the Korean standard for terrestrial Ultra High Definition TV recently published by South Korean standards organization Telecommunications Technology Association (TTA). If governmental officials approve the standard in September, MPEG-H Audio will provide a completely new sound experience in the world’s first 4K TV system, which will launch in South Korea in February 2017.

Immersive and interactive sound

The inclusion of MPEG-H Audio in the TTA UHD TV standard makes it the first next generation audio codec to go on air in a terrestrial 4K TV system. The codec was primarily developed by Fraunhofer IIS. It enables immersive and interactive sound, providing consumers the ability to adjust the sound mix to their preferences e.g. choosing between different commentators in a sporting event. Additionally, the codec delivers a truly immersive experience by adding 3D audio components. Thanks to these new features, TV audiences have the ability to watch movies with 3D sound and can experience sporting events or concerts as if they were present at the venue.

MPEG-H is already being integrated into TV sets and professional equipment in advance of the launch of Korean terrestrial UHD TV system. Most recently, the broadcast equipment manufacturers DS Broadcast and Kai Media announced the availability of MPEG-H Audio in their latest 4K encoder products. More product announcements are expected for this fall.

MPEG-H Audio for ATSC 3.0

MPEG-H Audio is part of the A/342 audio candidate standard (http://www.tvtechnology.com/news/0002/atsc-a32-audio-elevated-to-candidate-standard/278594) for ATSC 3.0. The Korean TTA standard “Transmission and Reception for Terrestrial UHD TV Broadcasting Service” (http://www.tta.or.kr/English/new/standardization/eng_ttastddesc.jsp?stdno=TTAK.KO-07.0127) is based on ATSC 3.0 and specifies MPEG-H Audio as the sole audio codec for the Korean system. According to Korean government representatives, the Seoul metropolitan area will be the first to receive the UHD TV service. After Seoul, it will expand into cities near the venues of the 2018 Winter Olympic Games in Pyeongchang. By 2021, the service will be available nationwide.

Live demonstrations

MPEG-H Audio at KOBA in Seoul, Korea

At KOBA show in Korea, MPEG-H Audio was presented in a 4K live broadasting chain with equipment provided by ETRI, Kai Media and DS Broadcast.

The MPEG-H Audio codec is ready to use in a broadcast system, as demonstrated by Fraunhofer IIS in a series of events. The most recent demonstration took place at KOBA Show in Seoul in May 2016 where Fraunhofer IIS presented a complete ATSC 3.0 broadcast chain with MPEG-H Audio. In workshops during and after the show, broadcasters and interested attendees were able to learn more about the opportunities the new codec can provide to broadcasters, as well as consumers.

Further information about MPEG-H Audio is available on the Fraunhofer web page and on www.mpeghaa.com.


Comments are Closed